Pecan Pie Bars

I was supposed to do these bars last Sunday but when I came to the store they didn't have any pecans! So I went to the other store and they didn't have it either! I was quite surprised to be honest, I know it's not that common in Sweden but I did think that a big supermarket was sure to have them. But no, I was wrong. And because of that I just lost my bakingspirit. I always get like that when a crucial ingredient is missing. And lets face it, you can't make pecan pie bars without pecans!



But then after a few days I made my Boyfriend go to the covered market and get me some pecans! So on Friday I could finally make them! And they where worth the wait! They could be one of the best things I have ever made! Absolutely delicious!
If I have to complain about something it may be that the crust is a little bit to thick but that's just a minor detail.

These will defenitly be made many times more! Maby I will make them for my bday next month as I'm planing on just having a dessert buffe! I'm really looking forward to that and I'm already scaning the web for things to make that will just wow everybody! Maby I will make some goodiebags for the guest to take home tha't always appreciated.



Recipe from The Cherry on Top

What You Need

For crust:
2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
2/3 cup packed brown sugar
2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon salt

For topping:
1 stick (½ cup) unsalted butter
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/3 cup honey
2 tablespoons heavy cream
2 cups chopped pecans

What You Need to Do

Preheat the oven to 350ºF and line a 9×13-inch pan with foil, leaving enough for a 2-inch overhang on all sides.

First make the crust by creaming together the butter and brown sugar until fluffy in a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Add in the flour and salt and mix until crumbly.

Press the crust into the foil-lined pan and bake for 18 minutes until golden brown.

While the crust bakes, prepare the filling by combining the butter, brown sugar, honey and heavy cream in a saucepan and stirring it over medium heat. Simmer the mixture for 1 minute, then stir in the chopped pecans.

Remove the crust from the oven and immediately pour the pecan filling over the hot crust spreading it to cover the entire surface.

Return the pan to the oven and bake an additional 18 minutes (I will reduce the time to 16 minutes for a softer caramel. But this i just a matter of taste so if you want it harder keep the 18 minutes or even up to 20 minutes).

Remove the pan and allow the bars to fully cool in the pan.

Use the foil overhang to lift out the bars and transfer them to a cutting board. Peel off the foil, slice into bars and serve.



Sorry for the bad photos but this time of year you get 2 hours of daylight on a good day and today was not one of those days. And I hate using the flash so i rather go for a darker photo. Bur A Cherry on Top have very nice photos on her blog.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0